Ridesharing in an Uber or Lyft is increasingly popular but if you’re involved in an accident as a rider in an Uber, what are your rights? After sustaining an injury in an Uber accident, you may be focused on your recovery and how to deal with lost wages and looming medical bills. At Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law, our Uber car accident attorneys understand what victims are going through and help to alleviate your concerns and worry. Here are some tips on what to do after a car accident but it's always best to speak with an experienced Uber accident attorney as soon as possible.

Seek Medical Treatment and File a Police Report Immediately Right After An Accident

If you’ve been in a car accident, you or someone else involved or witness to the accident should call 911 and report the accident as well as any injuries. The police will record the accident scene, take statements from you and any other victims or witnesses, and anyone needing medical attention will be treated or taken to a hospital. When speaking to the police officer, try to relate as many details of the accident as you can. Consider getting an extra copy of the police report for yourself and records.

Gather Evidence Related to Your Lyft or Uber Ride

If possible, immediately after the accident, use your cell phone to take photos of the scene of the accident, including the license plates of the vehicles in the accident. Ask for the personal insurance information of your Uber or Lyft driver, as well as the insurance information for any other drivers involved in the crash. And, take a screenshot of your trip in the Uber or Lyft app so that you have a record of the time of the trip, the name of your driver, and confirmation that you were a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the crash.

Damages and Compensation for an Uber Accident

While laws related to rideshare accidents vary by state, New Jersey has enacted some legislation designed to protect passengers while riding in an Uber, Lyft or other ridesharing services. These insurance requirements that apply when the driver is carrying a passenger replace the typical no-fault insurance laws that otherwise apply in New Jersey. Under New Jersey law, Uber/Lyft drivers who are carrying a passenger in their vehicles are required to carry $1.5 million in liability coverage (to compensate for bodily injury, property damage, and wrongful death), and $1.5 million in underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. This insurance coverage is available to victims even if the Uber driver did not cause the accident and if the other driver was uninsured.  

Brandon J. Broderick, New Jersey Uber Accident Attorney

New Jersey has complex insurance laws around car accidents involving Uber or other ridesharing services. Our knowledgeable Uber accident attorneys can take over all negotiations with insurers so you get full and fair compensation for your losses. One of our trusted team members will listen to your story, learn about your case, and can advise you next steps. Many of our clients feel a sense of relief once they make that first phone call. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Posted by: Brandon J. Bro…
Date: Tue, 12/29/2020 - 20:40

Still have questions?

Speak to an attorney today

Call now and be done