New Jersey prohibits texting and the use of handheld cellphones for all drivers. Furthermore, novice (those who are under 21 years of age) drivers are prohibited from all cellphone use.
Effective July 1, 2014, the fines for talking or texting on a hand-held wireless communications device is between $200 and $400 for first-time offenders. Second-time offenders will face an increased fine ranging from $400 to $600. Drivers who are caught for a third or subsequent time will face a fine between $600 and $800. Additionally, beginning with the third offense, there will be three points assessed against the driver’s record with a possibility of a driver’s license suspension for 90 days.
The following are the exceptions to the handheld cellphone law:
- The driver has reason to fear for his or her life or safety
- The driver believes they may be vulnerable to a criminal act committed against him or her, or another person.
- The driver uses their cellphone to report a traffic accident, a fire, a serious road hazard, a drunk driver, or a reckless driver.
Although it is not recommended, drivers may use a hands-free device if it doesn’t interfere with standard safety equipment.
Injured in a Car Accident Caused by a Distracted Driver?
Between 2010 and 2014, there were over 800,000 car accidents in New Jersey that were caused by distracted driving. If you suffered an injury caused by a distracted driver, our Bergen County personal injury attorney at Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law is ready to help you recover the compensation you deserve. Since distracted driving is considered a criminal offense, the ticket or citation is enough evidence to successfully file a claim.
Contact us and schedule a free consultation today.