Many people are surprised to learn that police reached out to the public for help after two teens were seriously injured recently in a hit-n-run accident on the New Jersey Turnpike. The unknown driver fled after striking a motorized scooter, injuring both teens.

The stress of being in a car accident is only amplified when the other motorist does not stop to check on the well-being of the other party and accept responsibility. What do you do in such a situation? We will provide further insight in the following article.

The best action you can take after a New Jersey hit-and-run accident is to consult with a NJ car accident lawyer who can offer both support and assistance. Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law has been helping accident victims in New Jersey for decades. Let us provide you with the legal help you need.

Hit And Run Defined

After a car accident, New Jersey law requires all drivers to exchange contact and insurance information. If needed, the other driver must make reasonable efforts to help the injured party, such as by calling for medical assistance if the accident caused bodily harm. You must report it to the authorities whenever an accident causes more than $500 in damage.

A driver who is involved in an accident but does not stop may face criminal and traffic charges. This is called a hit-and-run.

Who Is Responsible For Damages in a New Jersey Hit-and-Run?

Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is mandatory in the state of New Jersey. That means your own insurance policy will be the primary insurer for a hit-and-run claim, but will only cover car or property repair expenses, not medical bills. For medical care costs, you will have to rely on personal injury protection (PIP), which is also known as no-fault insurance. PIP covers medical costs, lost wages and funeral costs.

There are other options for hit-and-run victims. Sometimes, the other driver may be able to be identified by authorities and your lawyer. In either case, the Brandon J. Broderick team will work directly with you to file a claim or lawsuit for the compensation you deserve.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage Limits

When purchasing auto insurance in New Jersey, you are probably aware of the limits of UM coverage. The actual limit is the most your insurance company will pay out if you file a UM claim. So, if you opt for a larger limit, you will have more protection. This, however, comes with a price tag.

The minimum UM coverage on a New Jersey Standard policy is $5,000. You can increase this UM limit up to the amount of your policy's PD liability limit. Your UM coverage limit can be as high as your PD liability limit.

It's important to understand that UM coverage pays for car or property repair expenses, but doesn't not cover medical bills. 

Call Brandon J. Broderick For Legal Assistance

When it comes to car accident claims, particularly those involving hit-and-runs in New Jersey, the attorneys at Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law have a long history of success. Our attorneys will defend your rights and pursue maximum compensation for your claim through a combination of compassion and tough litigation.

Our consultations are always free, and we won't charge you anything unless we win your case. The first step towards achieving justice is to call us today.

Posted by: Brandon J. Bro…
Date: Thu, 09/14/2023 - 18:07

Still have questions?

Speak to an attorney today

Call now and be done