Even if you believe the accident was not your fault, most people are aware that you cannot simply drive away. However, many Vermont residents may be unaware of their legal obligations at the accident scene and in the days following. It is essential to understand your legal obligations. Continue reading to learn the fundamentals of Vermont car accident reports.
In Vermont, you must stop and remain at the scene of a car accident involving injuries to someone other than yourself or damage to property other than your own vehicle. You must also render reasonable aid to anyone who is injured. Provide your name, address, license number, and the name of your vehicle's owner to the other drivers and injured passengers.
In Vermont, Are You Required to File a Car Accident Report?
In Vermont, the operator of a motor vehicle involved in a crash whereby a person is injured or whereby there is total damage to all property to the extent of $3,000.00 or more shall make a written report concerning the crash to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles on forms furnished by the Commissioner. The written report shall be mailed to the commissioner within 72 hours after the crash. The Commissioner may require further facts concerning the crash to be provided upon completing forms furnished by him or her. Vermont car accident reports are a must for anyone who may need to file a claim to recoup financial compensation for losses related to the accident.
How to File a Vermont Car Accident Report
Online access and PDF download are available for the Vermont auto accident report. You must provide your personal information, a description of the accident, the information of the other driver(s), the nature of the injuries sustained, and the cost to repair the vehicles involved. If more than two vehicles were involved, you must file a separate report for each additional vehicle.
You must also provide insurance information for your vehicle, indicating whether you had the required amount of liability coverage at the time of the collision. In addition, state law mandates that you provide your liability insurance information to anyone who was injured or whose property was damaged within five days.
Obtaining a Copy of Your Automobile Accident Report
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles in Montpelier can provide you with a copy of your auto accident report. This online system allows you to request an accident report for a Vermont roadway accident. In the event of a serious and/or fatal car accident, your attorney may also request and receive the accident report and any related photographs.
You should request and keep a copy of the auto accident report, regardless of who filed it. In some instances, the information in the police report may be inaccurate or incomplete, and you may be able to make corrections.
The process of requesting and receiving a car accident report can take several weeks. You may also call the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles in Montpelier at 802-828-2000
Does a Car Accident Report Indicate Who Was at Fault?
A police report may contain pertinent information, witness statements, and other evidence for determining liability after a car accident. However, an insurance company will assign fault, whereas a car accident report does not. Insurance adjusters determine who is ultimately at fault in a car accident. In some scenarios, both drivers may be partially at fault, in which case an insurance adjuster will assign each driver a percentage of fault.
Filing a Car Accident Insurance Claim in Vermont
Due to Vermont's "fault" insurance system, if a driver is determined to be at fault in an accident, their insurance company is responsible for covering the damages of the other driver. This is also referred to as a "tort" state. The other driver's damages are covered by the at-fault driver's insurance policy, but determining who is at fault is the responsibility of the police and the insurance company.
In Vermont, it is also possible for both drivers to share responsibility for an accident. In an accident where one driver is assigned 20% fault and the other driver is assigned 80% fault, for instance, there is shared fault. This does not alter the fact that the driver with 80% fault will be responsible for the accident through their insurance.
However, this does not imply that the insurance company will treat your claim and compensation demands fairly. Moreover, if your own insurance does not cover the total cost of damages, you may be able to file a claim against the driver at fault. It is always advisable to consult with a Vermont car accident attorney as soon as possible after an accident to discuss your case.
The Law Office of Brandon J. Broderick, Vermont Car Accident Lawyers, Can Assist You
Don't go it alone if you've been injured in a car accident in Vermont. An experienced auto accident attorney can represent your best interests and pursue just compensation for your injuries. You can depend on Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law, to work tirelessly for your quality of life. With our extensive track record of success, we have assisted individuals in your position to move forward after suffering an injury caused by another party's negligence. Contact us immediately for a free legal evaluation.