Riding on the open road is alluring to motorcycle riders. However, despite the freedom one may feel, riding a motorcycle isn't without risks. Did you know that motorcycle riders are actually 28 times more likely to die in a motorcycle accident than the driver of an automobile and its passengers? They are also five times more likely to sustain injuries, according to the NHTSA.

Connecticut has a number of laws that all riders should be aware of for their own safety. Following these laws will assist in preventing serious injuries or even death in an accident, as well as traffic violations or assuming liability.

The following article will highlight some of the most important Connecticut motorcycle laws every rider should know. However, if you have further questions or have been in an accident, speaking with a Connecticut motorcycle lawyer is advised. Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney At Law, is familiar with the laws of Connecticut and can offer guidance about your accident.

Connecticut Requires a Motorcycle Endorsement

Riders in Connecticut only need a standard driver's license with an added motorcycle endorsement, rather than an entirely separate license. To get the required motorcycle endorsement, you must take the following steps.

  • Pay the fee, which is associated with testing and the permit
  • Complete a knowledge and vision test
  • Riding time with a learners permit, which is optional, but gives you the ability to drive a motorcycle with limitations
  • Complete a training course, including classroom and skills training on a motorcycle, that has been approved by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

Connecticut Has a Helmet Law

Connecticut is one of more than two dozen states with partial helmet regulations for a specific group of riders, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. All motorcycle drivers and passengers under the age of 18 are required by General Statutes of Connecticut 14-289g to wear helmets while riding a motorcycle. If you are found in violation, there is a minimum fine of $90. Additionally, CGS 14-40a (b) mandates that anyone applying for a motorcycle endorsement must wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle with a training permit. A first-offense fine of between $35 and $50 and a maximum of $100 or 30 days in jail could be imposed for failure to comply.

After the state's previous regulation was overturned in 1976, there had been a 13-year period without a helmet requirement before the state's partial helmet law was enacted in 1989. The previous law required anyone operating a motorcycle to wear a helmet.

CGS § 14-289d also requires all motorcycle operators and/or passengers to wear protective eye gear, such as goggles, glasses, or a face shield, unless the motorcycle has a windshield or windscreen.

Passenger Restrictions

An individual with a learner's permit is not permitted to ride a motorcycle with any passengers. For 90 days following the receipt of an endorsement, those who recently earned a motorcycle endorsement are prohibited from transporting passengers. The is a six-month time period for 16-17 year olds with a motorcycle endorsement before they can transport passengers.

Once this period of time has passed, drivers are only permitted to transport people on motorcycles that are fitted with a seat for the passenger that is securely fastened to the rear of the driver's seat.

Splitting Lanes

In Connecticut, motorcyclists have the same rights as other motor vehicles, including the ability to use a single traffic lane. As a result, CGS § 14-289b prohibits the simultaneous usage of two lanes by more than one motorcycle.

A motorcycle driver is also prohibited from passing and overtaking another vehicle in the same traffic lane. They are also not permitted to "lane split," or ride a motorcycle between lanes of traffic.

Insurance Requirements

In Connecticut, all motor vehicles, including motorcycles, must have proof of liability insurance, which covers bodily injury to another person's body or to their property.

Below are specific state requirements:

  • $20,000 for each person and $40,000 for each accident (bodily injury)
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident

Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Can Provide The Support You Need

Unfortunately, accidents caused by negligent drivers frequently involve motorcycle riders. Even riders who exercise caution and follow all traffic laws find themselves in accidents.

When you are involved in a motorcycle accident, you may have questions or need help in navigating your claim. The motorcycle accident lawyers of Brandon J. Broderick, Attorney at Law, can help. Our lawyers have years of experience defending the rights of people who have been hurt due to someone else's negligence, and we will put all of our efforts into helping you get the compensation you are entitled to.

Contact us now for a free, no-obligation consultation. We will examine your case and protect your legal rights if you or a loved one suffers injuries in a motorcycle accident.

Posted by: Brandon J. Bro…
Date: Mon, 09/26/2022 - 15:05

Still have questions?

Call now and be done