The name Hempstead is believed to have originated from the word Hemel-Hempstead, which translates to town spot. This magnificent town in New York is one of the three main towns in Nassau county. It is the largest township in the USA, covering approximately 368 kilometers of land.
It has 22 incorporated villages and at least 34 unincorporated communities. This townships unique geography also boasts of 65 marinas and parks, making it a picturesque and tourist attraction site.
This article focuses on the rich history of Hempstead township, how and who its founders were, and its current population.
The history of Hempstead
This township was founded on spiritual and religious backgrounds. It is home to two of the oldest churches in at the US: the Saint Georges Church, built in 1735 and later rebuilt in 1822, and the First Presbyterian Church, built in 1644 and later rebuilt in 1846.
This township came to be known as the Old blue town due to the blue laws used to govern it. The blue laws also referred to as Sunday laws, mainly emphasized the importance of refraining from sinning, more so on Sundays. Such rules included: not selling or buying alcohol on Sunday, using birth control methods, or wearing lacy-sleeved shirts.
When it came to forming laws that governed the locals on matters affecting them, especially land, annual or special meetings would be held, and a vote would be cast. The majority would have their say by forming the laws that suited them. These laws, referred to as orders, would be implemented to enforce law and order among the locals.
This beautiful county is also famous for its colonial landmarks, with the most notable ones being the Rock Hall which was constructed in 1767, and the George Hewlett House, which got built-in 1660.
When was Hempstead township founded?
The town of Hempstead was founded by puritans, namely John Carman and Reverend Robert Fordham, who were followers of the Presbyterian minister Richard Denton.
They first purchased these lands from Deleware Indians in 1643 through negotiations with the tribal leaders. These two men signed a land title deed on the 13th of December, 1643, but it was not confirmed until the 4th of July, 1657.
According to historical records, around 40 families migrated from Stamford and Connecticut and settled in the harbor of Hempstead in the spring of 1644 to form the new day Hempstead town New York. However, its believed that this town was already in existence by the year 1636.
This town was later incorporated in 1853; it received a charter from the state legislative council that allowed the locals to have elected officials.
The population status
As of the recent census, the estimated population in Hempstead was 770,000, with the female population accounting for 51.4% and persons under the age of 5 accounting for 5.8% of the total population. Individuals aged 65 years and above total 16.3% of the whole population, whereas those aged 18 years and below account for 22.1%.
For more than four centuries, the town of Hempstead has continued to grow in regards to economics, education, business, and the legislative sector, where more law firms conversant with the county law continue to grow each day.